- Due to Florida Statute SB 606 (effective January 1, 2023), all renters are now required to purchase renter’s insurance. This insurance is offered via email after making your reservation. We ask that you complete all necessary waivers before your arrival at Lemon Bay Boat Rental, this will help us get you on the water as quickly as possible.
- All operators are required to have experience relevant to the area, and conditions they will be operating in. You must know how to operate a boat as well as know how and when to operate boat and safety equipment etc. (bilge pump, throttle, trim etc.)
- Renters born after January 1, 1988 are required to provide proof of completion of N.A.S.B.L.A or equivalent boaters safety course. You can obtain a temporary Florida Safe Boating card here.
- If you were born before January 1, 1988 all you need is a DRIVER LICENSE, and all drivers must have some prior boat operating experience.
- No operators under the age of 25 are allowed to rent.
- Valid I.D. State or Federally issued
- Major Credit card for a $500 deposit
- Rental Contract
- NO GULF ACCESS ALLOWED (If you violate this policy, you will be charged a $300 fee)
Visa, Mastercard, Discover or American Express.
No. The entire transaction must be completed on your credit card.
Your card will be copied with the IDs of all of the drivers. Your card is responsible for any and all damages, loss of property, late returns, fuel, and search & rescue efforts.
We process your security deposit refund within 2 business days of your boat rental. The security deposit credit usually takes 2-7 business days to post back to your account depending on your bank.
Reservations are required for all boat rentals. If a boat reservation is cancelled within 72 hours of the scheduled departure time, you are responsible for 50% of the boat rental fee. If a boat reservation is cancelled the day of the scheduled departure time, you are responsible for 100% of the boat rental fee. Late arrivals will be charged the full rental rate. NO EXCEPTIONS.
Holiday weeks of Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year’s, as well as holiday weekends of Easter, Memorial Day, Independence Day and Labor Day our cancellation policy is 7 full days due to the tremendous demand during those time periods.
Lemon Bay Boat Rental reserves the right to cancel boat rentals due to inclement weather conditions. Any weather conditions that the marina considers dangerous to boating safety, will be grounds for cancellation. If reservations are cancelled due to weather, the customer will not be charged for the rental.
We recommend as soon as you know for sure what day and time you want to go, to call for a reservation or reserve online. Holidays and weekends usually book up 2 weeks ahead, weekdays 3 to 7 days ahead in season.
Our Reserve Online page shows you what boats are available and their cost, book it yourself online!
Call us and we will book it for you.
Our limits are the Venice Inlet to the north and Boca Grande Inlet to the south. The boats are NOT ALLOWED TO GO OUT IN TO THE GULF OF MEXICO. NO GULF ACCESS ALLOWED (If you violate this policy, you will be charged a $500 fee). Operators are responsible for knowing their own limitations based on experience. If you do not have a on the water towing membership and we must dispatch assistance there will be an additional charge of $350.
The rental price does not include fuel. We will refuel the boat for you upon return and your credit card will be charged for the actual fuel used during your outing. Our daily fuel price is posted at the marina.
No, we offer cooler rentals for $15 per day.
No. Our pontoon boats are designed for luxury cruising and beach access. We plan to add fishing boats in the near future so…stay tuned!
Everyone on the boat can drink except the driver, zero tolerance, you can lose your automobile driver’s license and face all consequences from the FWC.
Photo ID for all drivers and Credit Card of responsible party. Waterproof bags, reading glasses, cell phones, USB charger cord, shoes, sunblock, plenty of water. Recommended 1 gal. per person.
Everyone should arrive at their scheduled time and no later than 30 minutes after the scheduled rental ready for orientation. You have a reservation time set specifically for your party. If you arrive more than 30 minutes late and do not notify us at least an hour in advance of your reserved time you will be charged the full rental plus tax.
Orientation, which is part of your rental time, is typically 15-20 minutes depending on prior boating knowledge. Rentals will be denied if we feel you are disregarding safety procedures being given.
Orientation will cover everything from rules of the road, basic boat operation, how to navigate our waterways, liability waivers and rental agreements.
You are solely responsible for any and all damages of all equipment while it is in your possession. Inspecting the equipment is your responsibility before leaving.
Our $50/day damage waiver coverage reduces your liability from the full value of the boat to $1,000 (Your $500 damage deposit plus an additional $500).
Most personal insurance companies exclude coverage for a “rental” boat. This includes most homeowner’s policies, personal auto policies etc.
This program buys our customers a bit of leniency with those little scuffs and scratches and reduces the liability exposure for a majority of other issues our customers face. Most of our customers return our rental equipment in great shape, but accidents sometimes occur. Because of this, we have introduced this program at the request of our customers to offer peace of mind while on the water. Should you have a mishap while on our rental boat, the Damage Waiver reduces your exposure to $1000 (Your $500 damage deposit plus and additional $500).
Although you may take care of the equipment, in some instances the damage is not always your fault. For example, you have your rental boat docked at a marina to eat lunch. While you are inside an inexperienced boater arrives and bumps into the boat. They damage a section of the motor, skirting or pontoons and before you can find out who they are they take off — leaving you stuck with the bill.
Another example would be hitting a submerged rock, log or stump; which, can be a very costly repair.
One of the big advantages of our program is that it releases the renter from the loss of rental revenue clause in the rental agreement. If boat is damaged and unavailable for rent for a week while getting repaired due to an accident, the renter is responsible for this loss revenue. The damage waiver covers this and can potentially save you thousands.
We encourage you to take photos and share them with us with our attendant before leaving the dock. Point out any damage you see prior to leaving to be marked on the contract for peace of mind upon your return.
Call us when you are about an hour from returning if you are returning early. Otherwise, an attendant will be at the dock at your scheduled return time. If for some reason we are not there, tie the bow line and stern line to the dock where you picked up the boat (allow for water movement, etc) and we will be there shortly to inspect the boat and process the paperwork.
You are responsible for any and all damages to our equipment. Your damage will be assessed and charged within 48 hours. Fiberglass damage is not cheap so keeping a safe distance from everyone and everything while aboard our equipment is important. If you would not bump up against a buddy’s truck with your truck to talk, don’t do it with our boat. Plain and simple “You break it, you pay for it”. If there is ANY damage, please wait until we are onsite so we can discuss damages together to avoid later issues. The Agreement is very clear about your responsibility.
That depends on how you are operating the boat. The Yamaha 150hp motor burns about 15GPH at a running speed of about 20MPH.
HALF DAY RENTALS ARE FROM 8:00AM-12:00PM, and 12:30PM to 4:30PM. FULL DAY RENTALS ARE FROM 8:00AM TO 4:30PM. Plan to arrive at the time of your scheduled departure. The check-out process is part of your rental time.
Rental time begins as scheduled regardless of your arrival time. If you are running late, please give us a call so we can do our best to get you on the water as quickly as possible.
Late returns are billed at $50 per 15 minutes late. If you are running late, please call us so we can make the appropriate arrangements to have staff meet you and check the boat in.
No. Our rentals for full day or half-day and are not pro-rated to the hour.
Our boats are rated for 11, 12 or 13 passengers depending on the model. The Avalon Boats are rated for 12 passengers and the Misty Boats are rated for 13 passengers.
The boat is your responsibility. Damage caused by beaching the boat will be charged to you. If you are late returning the additional late fees will apply. Know the tide schedule for the day. Call us if you have any issues.
The State of Florida does not allow us to sell boat insurance, so be careful not to break or lose anything. Ask at the office for the replacement price of items lost or broken.
No. You are responsible for the boat if you rent the boat.
Our boats are equipped with GPS so getting home should be a snap! Do not trust tracks that may be stored in the GPS! Safe navigation and operation are your responsibility. Should you have problems, give us a call and we will try to help with directions. Worse case, drop an anchor and call us for assistance. Keep in mind that if we need to call marina staff for help, you will be charged $350 plus the late return is billed at $50 per 15 minutes late. If you are running late, please call us so we can make the appropriate arrangements to have staff meet you and check the boat in.
Check the lanyard on the dash. If that doesn’t work, drop the anchor, and call us for assistance.
No. We prefer to rent to experienced boaters.
Our rentals are from 8am to 4:30PM.
We love dogs at LBBR but have found that dogs don’t love the summer heat and our vinyl seats and boat decks don’t love dog claws. Fido will thank you for leaving him home and so will we.